Borat Movie – A MUST SEE

Last Sunday Rob and I went to see Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan.  It is from the comedian who does the Ali G. Show on HBO, Sacha Baron Cohen.  The best part is, most of the scenes in the movie are unscripted and using real people. 

 Borat

I have to recommend you see this movie!  If you are easily offended, this movie is not for you.  At the beginning of the movie my initial reaction was, “WOW..this is really offensive”.  But that is what makes it funny….it is so offensive it is funny.  The movie makes fun of everyone, especially Americans. 

 

The movie is about a Kazakhstan journalist who travels to America to make a documentary for his country.  The movie is filmed as a “mockumentary”.  The US Film industry was so worried that Americans would be offended and not understand the comedy behind the movie, they slashed the number of theaters it would open at by half.  Now they regret it.  The movie is opening in more theaters this weekend.  Kazakhstan has banned the movie from their country and even took out a 3 Page ad in the New York Times to try and educate American’s about their country for fear we would believe everything we saw in the movie.

 

Rob & I were laughing so hard in the theater we were crying (and I was snorting!).  I highly recommend it!  If you want to check out a few clips from the movie, click here.

This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Borat Movie – A MUST SEE

  1. Michelle says:

    Oh my god – that photo. I don’t know what to say.

  2. Geneen says:

    I’ve seen it twice. The only part they really needed to trim was the male-on-male nude wrestling. I think I am blind!

Leave a Reply

