A Little Motivation For The Day

As many of you know, I really hate overly positive chipper things.  Now please don’t confuse this with great stories of compassion, triumph, good-will, or great events…I love that stuff.  I like stories of inspiration and triumph against the odds.  But just really overly positive, happy happy things really make me feel aggressiveI don’t know why.  I have the same reaction to classical music. I have yet to figure out why you have music without words. I know God wants me to sing loud so you can all hear.  Well one of the things that really annoys me are those Motivator posters.  Take for instance this Winner poster. I agree with what it says, “Winners:  While most are dreaming of success, winners wake-up and work hard to achieve it.”  I fundamentally believe that if you work hard you can achieve anything.  But to put that on a poster with 3 people running in the middle of nowhere with the sun coming up….PLEASE!  Actually I fundamentally believe most of the motivator statements…but I think it is the concept of dressing the statements up in some fancy way then adding some sort of inspiring picture that I don’t like.

  Winner

Again, this gets back to not confusing what I am saying. I like motivation, I believe in the power of destiny and making your own way, I just can’t deal with them being put in these “motivation” posters.  I guess that means I probably would not do well with a Life Motivation coach.    I also think this does not mean that I am a “Glass is half empty” kind of person.  I think I am a realist.  I see the glass is half full, but I also know that if you don’t have the glass in the first place…well then, I am not going to lie to you and tell you that you got a half full glass. 

Anyway, I wanted to provide you with a few of my personal favorite demotivator posters. I find them rather funny.

Sometimes I think of this poster when things are going wrong at the office…this must be someone’s philosophy!

Mediocrity

Mediocrity: It Takes A Lot Less Time and Most People Won’t Notice the Difference Until It’s Too Late

My Personal Favorite and something I might use in reference to the “resort” I stayed at this past weekend for my Board Meeting and a Conference as well as the “service” provided.  Either I have raised my standards to high, or this place stinks.  I am pretty sure it is the latter.

Failure

Failure: When Your Best Just Isn’t Good Enough

I personally like this one…it corresponds with a quote I love and often remind myself:  “Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups.”  (Sometimes I think we get some of our policy decisions that way.)

Cluelessness

Cluelessness:  There Are Not Stupid Questions, But There Are A LOT of Inquisitive Idiots.

This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Little Motivation For The Day

  1. Jenny A. says:

    Somehow, this post doesn’t surprise me at all. In fact, I can actually hear you saying all of these words in my head… it’s almost like you’re here in the room with me, reading it aloud! I’ve got more of the non-motivational posters somewhere on my computer. I’ll have to send them to you for giggles. 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Miracle of the Internet « Observations From The Nation's Capital

Leave a Reply

