Rent-N-Roll

As I was driving home and stuck in traffic last night, some bright lights on I-45 caught my eye.  Through the rain in a glow of electric red I saw “Rent-N-Roll”.  Below the sign was a custom wheels and tires shop.  That’s right folks, it now appears that I can rent custom wheels for Fancy Girl, for as low as $25.00 a month. 

 

Rent-N-Roll is offering rent to own options.  This is something I know a little bit about.  My first job in D.C. (and the only time I have represented what I would call a sleazy company) required that I represent a rent-to-own type of company.  I could hardly believe it myself when I heard the words come out of my mouth, “These companies are providing a valuable service to those low income people who would not have a TV, Dishwasher, or a Couch if it were not for the services provided by my client.  By giving them the ability to make weekly payments we are providing a service.  And the items they rent are theirs as long as they make the weekly payments.”  And for this service, a $200 TV can cost $500 after it’s rented long enough to own it.  What a crock.

 

Anyway, it now seems this rent-to-own business model has transferred to wheels & tires.  Doesn’t it seem strange that you can rent wheels and tires?  Plus, if you rent the tires, what happens when you return them used? Who gets them after that and how good are they?

 

Well I happen to find the Rent-N-Roll website where I am able to input my car (only they don’t have 2006 or 2007 models so I used a 2005) and I am able to see how my car would look with fancy wheels.  You can too, just click here.  Even better, they offer low weekly, bi-weekly or monthly payments, no credit hassle and no down payment. 

 

But what is crazy to me…is that they must get a fair amount of business because they are offering franchise opportunities!

 

 

This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rent-N-Roll

  1. Irma says:

    Thank goodness…I now finally know how my employees can afford those things! Here I was thinking they were all moonlighting in less than legal enterprises. How silly of me!!

  2. Brendan says:

    Irma… Put the mimosa down and get back to work!

  3. julie says:

    Well duh! How else do you think I can afford those wheels and rims on the Volvo!!??

  4. Fancy says:

    SWWWEEEEEEET! I’m gonna put some on the Benz!

Leave a Reply

