A Weather Man Admits Defeat

Amazing thing happened today.  I actually heard a weatherman admit that the Winter Storm we are expecting isn’t really going to be a big deal after all.  You can imagine how shocked I was because as you know…in the weather world…everyone has to be reporting on the BIG ONE…the POSSIBLE problems we may have.  Heck…we even close down schools here on the thought that we might have bad weather.

 

I thought I was going to luck out and miss Winter since I was in Houston for so long, but no, mother nature knows how much I love icy cold winter…so she waited.   As soon as I returned to D.C. the winter weather hit.  I used to think that I hated my big wool winter coat because it is the same one I had had for 6+ years.  Well I got a new one for Christmas and I have discovered that no…I just hate wearing a big heavy wool coat…even a cute one (Yes Irma it is a cute one…I know how you want to make sure everything is cute and this winter coat would pass your cute test…and its red).   

 

Here is the problem.  I have to wear a suit for work.  So everyday, I am dressed up in some suit..that means a suit jacket.  Then winter hits.  And you guys know this already because I lament about it every 9 months…so then when winter hits I have to start bundling up.   So, I wear put on the suit, including the jacket, put on thick socks (because there is nothing worse then cold or wet feat), grab the sensible (but not always cute) shoes that function in show or ice, wrap the warm fleece scarf around my neck then allow the excess to hang down the front of my stomach; grab the big heavy wool jacket and button it up; secure the ear muffs; and then put on the warm fleece gloves.

 

I hear you…you say What’s the big deal?   Let me point out a few factors:

  • When you are wearing that many items of clothing you can’t help but look like the stay puff marshmallow man, or the Goodrich tire guy.  
  • Your full range of arm movement has been reduced to about half.  You pray there are no crazy drivers on the road that require any quick maneuvering of the vehicle because you are too bundled up to react quickly. 
  • What you put on…has to come off.  Static electricity!  And, you spend your day putting your winter cloths on to go get lunch, taking them off when you get back, putting them on to go to a meeting, taking them off when you get to your meeting, etc, etc, etc.   
  • Nice work shoes, are not made for snow.  So you always have to bring your back up pair.  
  • Your skin is so dry for the heat being on full blast every where you go.   
  • Who likes being cold all the time?
This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Weather Man Admits Defeat

  1. Irma says:

    I HATE HOW BUNDLED UP PEOPLE ALWAYS LOOK SO CUTE AND WARM ON TV & THE MOVIES. IT’S SUCH A LIE! NO ONE CAN BE CUTE AND WARM IN THIS CRAP!

  2. Debbie says:

    Thank you for reminding me why I moved to Florida. Boy, I do not miss the cold…or the bundling and unbundling dance that comes with it! I also do not miss that lovely white salt ring around every single pair of shoes and/or boots you wear outside at this time of year!

  3. Michelle says:

    I don’t know, Jen. i kinda like winter. It’s so charming.

  4. Jennifer says:

    Great Michelle, now I know who to call when I need my car shoveled out…it would be charming to have someone else deal with that!

Leave a Reply

