Walk Softly and Carry Lots of Safety Pins

Okay, so I have this skirt that I sometimes wear.  I have noticed that the last few times I have worn it I would occasionally find my zipper down!  Yes embarrassing to say the least. But I wasn’t really sure what was going on.  So on Sunday when I was leaving Sunny Florida I decided to wear the skirt again.  Everything was going just fine until I got off the plane in D.C.  As I am hauling my stuff off the plane (hands full) I have a feeling that my zipper is down.  (I had a long shirt on so nobody was getting a free show.)  So I casually zip it up as I exit and I walk to find a bathroom (I refuse to pee on a plane unless it is an emergency.)  On my way to the bathroom I realize the zipper has fallen down again…just minutes after I pulled it up last time.  So I fix the zipper.  As I get to the bathroom I realize that this zipper not staying up might be a permanent thing, because every time I pull it up, it falls right back down. 

 

Well as luck would have it, when I am trying to button my skirt in the bathroom stall…the darn button comes off!  So there I am, in the bathroom stall with no working zipper and a missing button!  I empty the entire contents of my purse looking for a safety pin, or ANYTHING that will secure this skirt to my body.  I mean I am so desperate, I try to pin it using a spare pair of earrings that I have in my purse.  It didn’t work. 

 

So, I am forced to walk from the bathroom to baggage pick up (thank god I was at National airport and not Houston Intercontinental or some other airport where baggage claim is a good mile from the terminal.) with a skirt that is not wanting to stay on my body.  I am practically walking with my legs as far apart as possible to keep the damn thing up.  Or, I have one hand strategically placed on my stomach holding my skirt together.  Yes, I looked ridiculous. 

 

Needless to say, I was able to get my luggage and a cab with out dropping my drawers…but it was hard.  Last night I put a handful of safety pins in my purse and my wallet. 

This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Walk Softly and Carry Lots of Safety Pins

  1. Irma says:

    Stapler…anyone will let you borrow one. I know.

Leave a Reply

