Wanted: Federal Agents with a Sense of Humor

Federal officials were in my office conducting a top secret security clearance investigation for my colleague Trey.  (They interview his colleagues, neighbors, childhood friends, old co-workers, family, friends, etc to determine if you are not a security risk and can be granted a security clearance.  A Top Secret security clearance requires a more extensive investigation than just a simple clearance.)  So I get interviewed by these two very serious federal investigators.  As soon as I walk in they each show me their badge and explain to me they are suppose to be here and are authorized to conduct this security investigations (all very official). 

 

They are asking me all kinds of questions (have you ever seen him drunk, do you think he has a substance abuse problem, have you ever known him to be violent, do you know his wife, has he ever traveled overseas, did he talk to any strangers while traveling overseas, etc etc etc.  So then they ask me, “Have you ever known Trey to exhibit poor judgment?”  So then I said in a very serious manner, “Well he did go to LSU?”

 

Silence

 

As they were giving me a dead-pan look I decided perhaps I should explain, “I went to Texas A&M, he went to LSU…rivalry….”

 

Silence

 

I thought it was funny.

This entry was posted in Life in general, Political Rantings. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wanted: Federal Agents with a Sense of Humor

  1. Irma says:

    I think that is HILARIOUS!!! I would have said the same thing…and I would have laughed like a Hyena when I said it! I’m laughing now picturing these “men in black” guys looking at you like you’re a moron! I love it…I’m laughing hysterically! Now my HR coordinator and my recruiter are both looking at me like I’m a moron…

  2. Derek says:

    It is funny…good line

  3. ann says:

    I fail to see the humor also – who would go to LSU???? That’s a serious flaw!

  4. Carrie says:

    That’s hilarious, Jen!

  5. seancasaidhe says:

    The problem is these guys have a very serious job to do, and if you’re willing to joke about with one answer, how can they trust your other answers?
    Not cool.

Leave a Reply

