Another Year Older, None the Wiser…

Today’s the big day.  It’s my birthday.  If I were Irma I would tell you that I am having a lovely time celebrating my 6th 29th birthday.

 

If you do the math you realize I am actually 35.  I have to admit it, I was/am having a hard time with 35.  My mind starts going crazy and I end up with the realization that I am 5 years away from 40 and half-way to 70.  Now, I am not saying that either of these are a big deal…I’m just saying I am no longer in my 20’s (and for that I am thankful…but I think liked 30, maybe 31 better).   Honestly, I have no idea why turning 35 has been rough, but it has.  I did get carded at the grocery store this weekend.  I looked at the cashier incredulously…you REALLY think I am under-age? 

 

Anyway, I awoke this morning embracing my new age.  I also got a good chuckle out of my first birthday wish.  My father sent me a text message.  The only reason this is funny to me is because my father has been “technically challenged” his whole life. I had no idea he even knew how to send a text message.  If it has not been at 6:15 his time I would have accused him of having the tech guy at his office send me the message.

 

About 30 minutes later I got one of my favorite “Happy Birthdays”…Hallie singing to me.  (However, she did tell me I lived in the zoo and looked like a monkey.)  However, she was a little groggy and slow to start singing.  I wondered if Julie had not woken her up call me. 

 

So, I am embracing my birthday and plan to celebrate all week. I started this weekend with Game Night at my house on Saturday.  (I love games!).  We had a great time and a friends  Mom made me the BEST vanilla cake with chocolate frosting.  I started today by having a slice of that cake for breakfast (you got to do it on your birthday) and I plan to have Sushi for lunch.  I would eat Sushi for dinner, however I headed to my cousins for a birthday dinner and last time I checked, Kristi wasn’t a sushi chef.  To complete my day, I hope to get a Happy Birthday song from my little cousins Jack & Kate. 

 

But the best part will be the end of the week where I will spending it Tubing down the Frio River with sunny skies, warm weather, good friends, Texas country music, and a cold beer.  There is nothing better!

This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Another Year Older, None the Wiser…

  1. Angie Morton says:

    Happy Birthday girl! Welcome to 35…it sucks so far. Just kidding, it hasn’t been much different than 34. Have a great day!

  2. Irma says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Your skin is sooo lovely – I’d keep saying “29” for at least 2 more years!! I too got carded this weekend at Kroger…I am going to bet that a manager was lurking nearby and the cashier was still in “training”…but I’m NOT going to lie – I LOVED it! Looking forward to our trip…bring some good CD’s (NO Dixie Chicks please) and we can sign at the top of our lungs the whole way – William is going to Love it!

  3. Irma says:

    PS… 29 for the 6th time -would make you 34.

  4. Geneen says:

    I am so jealous: GAME NIGHT! ARGH!

    Hope you had a happy birthday! Have a great time tubin’!

    Neen

  5. Geneen says:

    LOL@Irma. Oh Kerber, darling!

    I am laughing with you — not at you. I would have said the exact same thing. I am mathematically challenged.

Leave a Reply

