Buc-ee’s, My First True Love

Okay, I have to confess.  One of the things I have grown to truly love about the annual tubing trip is Buc-ee’s.   One of the top ten things on my life list is Texas Beef Jerky.  Yes, I know, rather strange.  But truly, there is nothing better then some good beef jerky!  I have had a love of this for as long as I can remember.  (In fact, one of my favorite b-day gifts when I was in High School was from my friend Michelle who gave me a thing of beef jerky and a coke!)  So, one of my favorite things about the annual camping trip is that I can get good beef jerky (I don’t count the stuff you can buy in every grocery stores).  Each year I can’t wait to float the Frio River, sun shining above, river flowing, river radio blaring country music, beer in one hand, and Texas beef jerky in the other hand.  Really, it is the ultimate vacation!  J

 

Years ago we used to see people selling beef jerky on the side of the road as we headed to our annual 4th of July camping trip.  (You see, we used to camp, and I wasn’t a huge fan.  I am more of a Ritz Hotel kind of girl then I am a tent and bugs kind of girl.  Then, we eventually started making enough money that we could rent a house.  I was extremely thankful!  We still call it the camping trip, but we don’t really camp.  Although I think they might start letting the kids “camp” in the front yard in a few years.)   My friends understand my cardinal rule: You see someone selling beef jerky on the side of the road, you pull over!  And I mean everyone pulls over! We must stop for all beef jerky sales.  Apparently beef jerky sales on the side of the road are no longer easily found.  Although I was greatly saddened by the loss of the side of the road beef jerky salesman, I did fine Buc-ee’s.  Buc-ees’ makes homemade beef jerky, and it is fantastic!  Almost as good as the stuff you find being sold on the side of the road.  They make all kinds of beef jerky (turkey, venison, mild, spicy, teriyaki, etc) and every year, I make sure I buy as much as I can.  In fact, this year, I ended up buying extra for my office.  I feel the need to spread the joy of good beef jerky beyond the state of Texas.

 

So, the whole reason for this post is that I used to wait all year to hit Buc-ee’s, which is about an hour and a half outside of Houston on I-10.  We pass it once a year on the way to our annual tubing troop.  I always make the caravan stop there on the way to and from Concan.  This year, it was no different. But then, when I returned from camping, I was hanging out with my brother and I discovered THERE IS A BUC-EE’S IN LEAGUE CITY!  That’s right, off of highway 96 between the Gulf Freeway and highway 146, there is a brand new Buc-ee’s.  So I made my brother pull in there as well, and we bought MORE beef jerky. 

 

I  can now rejoice in the fact that I can buy my good Texas Beef Jerky every time I go home to Clear Lake.  Oh the joy!

 

I promise, more on the camping trip later!

This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Buc-ee’s, My First True Love

  1. Lynn says:

    There is a Buc-ee’s in Pearland by our house. Now you make me want to go see if they have homemade beef jerky there.

  2. Brad says:

    Stopped at Buc-ee’s on our way back yesterday and got some jerky! Good stuff!!

    Here’s their list of locations Kerber, so that you can visit all of them!!!

    http://www.bucees.com/locations.htm

Leave a Reply

