We Are Going to Switzerland (Nous Allons à la Suisse)

My head is still spinning from this last minute decision to head to Switzerland.  I am very excited about the trip, but also a lot nervous.  I am headed to Geneva with Julie, Brendan, Hallie and Jack.  We have to go to Europe so Julie can start her next treatment (which I think is going to be the one!). It is called fotomustaine (sp?) and is a form of Chemo.  It is not a clinical trial, but an actual melanoma treatment. It just isn’t available in the United States.  The good news is, we can go over there, and bring the drugs back to the U.S.  The unknown part is, how long we have to stay there until the Doctors in Geneva feel comfortable about allowing us to take the Chemo back to M.D. Anderson.

I am going to go and take care of the kids while Brendan is taking care of Julie.  We are SOOO lucky as the Lyons have some great friends who will be hosting us in Geneva.  It makes such a difference to go to a foreign city and have a local host!  I am only sorry that I can’t stay the entire 3 weeks.  I am coming back the 2nd week of August.  I can’t believe it, but it has been 12 years since I went traveling through Europe.  I have never been to Geneva.  I have been to Switzerland.  We stayed in this gorgeous home at the base of the Jungfrau Mountains.

I know I said it yesterday, but this is by far the most spontaneous thing I have ever done. We just made the decision yesterday. I fly to Houston today.  We fly to Geneva tomorrow.  If you know me, you know I am NOT spontaneous.  Jules & I did move to Boston for the summer in 1993, but I had nearly two months to plan for that.  Last night I spent my time getting electrical converters and shampoo, etc.

I have no idea what to expect or how often we will be able to get online or respond to emails.  I will update with trip information and pictures as I can.  Continue to pray for Julie & family.  As we learned from her recent post, the Mind is a powerful thing, so positive thoughts please.  This is the treatment that is going to work!

P.S.  Have I told you how much I LOVE my ipod.  I spent last night getting up-to-date for the long flight.  I updated some videos, added a few songs.  I was able to find a podcast about “Get to Know Geneva: Everything a traveler needs to know!”  I also found an audio book that I can use to brush up on my French.  When I say brush up, I really me learn French.  I had two years of French in High School, and even with that I still speak a Texanized version of French “Bon JURR”   I know everyone over there speaks English, but it will be fun to maybe practice a little Tex-French on them.

This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to We Are Going to Switzerland (Nous Allons à la Suisse)

  1. Irma says:

    How awesome that you can do this! You’re one classy lady!

  2. guillermo says:

    Hello Jen, don’t worry about the internet connection, you can use my own pc…I hope we can have a good time while you be here…weather is good and the landscape is beautiful….. we hope that help Julie to get over that horrendus illness… looking forward to hosting you….

  3. Angie Morton says:

    OMG Kerber! That is awesome. I am sure Julie and Brendon are so happy you can be there with them. I am praying for healing.

  4. Pingback: The Weekend « Observations From The Nation’s Capital

Leave a Reply

