Heading Home

I just wanted to put up a quick post because I am sure many of you are wondering what is going on since we have not posted since Monday.  Everyone is fine!  Julie has not had any of the nasty side effects from her first round of fotomustaine treatment and she is acting like her regular smiling self.  She also got some pain medicine to help the bone aches and again, they really like their doctor in Switzerland.  We have been basking in the healing. 🙂

It was with great sadness that I left Switzerland at 5 a.m. (11 p.m. Houston time) this morning.  But both Joe & Shirley had arrived and C&G return tomorrow so I know the Lyons family is in good hands.  I was glad I had the opportunity to spend the time in Switzerland with Julie & Family.  It was the best trip I have ever taken.  I am exhausted (according to my body it is 11:30 p.m.) so this is just a quick post.  I will update our last two days activities and add pictures later.  I just wanted to let everyone know that Julie & Brendan are doing great and I have returned to Houston.  I have to tell you this 100 degree heat is hard to come back to.  The longer I am away from Houston, the more I forget how oppressive it can be in Houston in August.  J  (I still can’t believe I used to go run and rollerblade in this like it was nothing.)

 

——–

On a different note, for all of you who chide me for my occasional morning Sugar Free Red Bull fix, please see the latest study that says it is no worse then your morning cup of coffee!

Energy Drinks’ caffeine in line with coffee

Story Highlights

  • Report: The caffeine in many popular energy drinks about the same as coffee
    Range in 8 ounces of various drinks was from 50 to145 milligrams
    8-ounce cup of brewed coffee can range from 65 to120 mg; average 85 mg
    Red Bull has 80 mg of caffine

You want the full story? 

http://www.cnn.com/2007/HEALTH/08/08/energy.drinks.reut/index.html
 
This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Heading Home

  1. Phylisanne says:

    Jen – Thanks for the update! I have been waiting for some news of the treatment and kept looking for somthing from Brendan – I am soooo glad everything is going great.

    I hope they are laughing and being the goof-offs that they are!

    So glad your were there to help out – and to have some oversight to bring back to all of us. Keep wearing that “Maroon Shirt ” (I wear mine all the time and I never went to A&M!)

  2. Running Mel says:

    Thanks for the post, Jen. I was wondering how the Lyons bunch was faring since Monday. I hope your flight home was uneventful and yes – it’s amazing how quickly our bodies can forget about the hot heat and humidity here in Houston. Hang on girlie…the weatherman says more of the same and possibly hotter later this week! Sweet dreams in the meantime! Hope you feel rested soon!

    Melanie Ross

  3. Irma says:

    Yay! You’re back…don’t worry, as soon as you walk into any movie theatre, restaurant, commerciall building, mall etc…you will be freezing your butt off. I am running a small electric heater under my desk as I type this. Also…funny you mention energy drinks, I had my first one yesterday (actually more like a 1/3 of one) – I didn’t like the taste, and it made me feel a little loopy…too much sugar/caffeine combo??? Who knows, I’ll stick with my extra sweet, extra creamy 16oz cup of coffee!

  4. angie says:

    thanks for being such a great friend. Love You.

  5. April Dlugach Paine says:

    Hi Jen, just to say how much I loved the post on Julie’s blog about you. xo

Leave a Reply

