CEO with Strong Leadership Ability, Business Acumen, and People Skills Wanted

First, I know many of you only check my blog to get an update on Julie, and since J&B have not posted since they got back to Houston I will give you a quick update.  (Perhaps this will prod them for a real update on their website.)   Brendan made it home Friday with the Chemo and recovered very quickly from the jet lag (probably something you have to do with 3 kids around).  Julie spent a crazy few days trying to get the kids prepared for school. She is feeling good and even went to work today.  You know Julie, got to keep busy…can’t ever sit down…I sent the kids to school yesterday, why not go to work today.  J  Hopefully we will get more from them soon.

 

This is going to be a bit of a rambling post, so I apologize upfront.  Every so often I hit a wall and find myself tired of the politics.  Yep, that is right, I said I am tried of the politics.  (Don’t get me wrong, that does not mean I am tried of policy work, I still love that part of the job.)  For the first time in nearly 8 years of being in D.C., I am finding even the people working on the Hill are disgusted with themselves. 

 

I normally love a good Presidential race.  For years, I would get excited a year or two prior to the election (ask my roommates from college).  I start trying to figure out who is going to run. I see who is taking a trip to a disaster area, who is speaking out on a national or international issue when it really doesn’t seem like their place to be providing commentary…and then I get all excited when I think to myself (or tell my roommates) “AH HA, he is sooo running for President.”   I then spend the next 18 months second guessing their moves, their policy, the staff they hire.  I am like a coach sitting on the couch shouting at the TV screen about some bonehead move they did, or smiling with admiration at the political move I just witnessed.  Typically there is only one thing I love to follow more than a Presidential election, and that is college football.

 

But this year, I am not enjoying my Presidential election because I don’t have a candidate.  In case you don’t know, I am a fiscally conservative, socially semi-liberal Republican (what that really means is I don’t fully align with the Republican party, but I could never call myself a Democrat).  That also means that I don’t just vote for someone because they are a Republican. I look at the whole picture.   (But truth be told, I like my Presidents to be Republican as they traditionally have been stronger on Defense). 

 

But this year, I am not passionate about any of them.  Frankly, I think I could do a better job then half of them.  And that is not what I want for President…I want someone who is greater than me, has a better vision than what I can provide, and has true leadership skills to bring this country together and move us forward.  At this point in time, I don’t see it in the choices we have.

 

Frankly, I think the politics in Washington have gotten so bad, that the people who should be running for high office are saying, “No Thank You!”  It is now a position where the truly great people in our society are smart enough to figure out that what Harry S. Truman once said is correct, “It sure is Hell to be the President.”

 

Disillusioned in D.C.

 

BTW…College Football Season Starts This Saturday!  Gig’em Aggies!  And did you happen to notice that the Fighting Texas Aggie Football Team was ranked #25 (and Juan, I am sorry to tell you that Miami isn’t even ranked) (And yes, for my little longhorn fans, I see where you are ranked, I am very happy for you, but at this point I prefer to just ignore it.)

 

BTW2:  What is up with Fried Latte’s being offered at the Texas World Fair in Dallas (yes that is the news we get up here).  Have we not gone too far?  Must we Texan’s fry everything?  Please stop, I am not sure how to defend this move.  Any suggestions on what I should tell those who question me about my fellow Texans?

 

 

This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to CEO with Strong Leadership Ability, Business Acumen, and People Skills Wanted

  1. Joe from Texas says:

    First Jen no contesting you and politics. Second, It is real easy to defend your so called texans by merely pointing out the facts in fried foods. Here is an excerpt from Wikipedia on the fried twinkie(A deep fried Twinkie is a relatively recent invention, taking the popular Hostess Twinkie cake, freezing it, dipping it into batter and deep frying it to create a variation on the traditional snack cake. According to the Hostess website, Christopher Sell invented the “fried twinkie” at the ChipShop, his restaurant in Brooklyn, New York. According to CNN, the dish was adapted by Chris Mullen, but invented at a “Brooklyn restaurant.” The deep-fried Twinkie was a runaway success after Mullen and his brother started selling it at country fairs in mid-August. “We sold 26,000 Twinkies in 18 days,” By 2002, the Arkansas State Fair had introduced the fried Twinkie to great popular acclaim, and the notion spread to other state fairs across the U.S., as well as some establishments that specialize in fried foods.) Also from a cooking website.(Fried cakes are nothing new – they can be traced as far back as the 5th millennium BC and it is believed the ancient Egyptians ate them). Seeing how the United States much less Texas is far newer than these dates, I do not see how we can be blamed for the fried food craze. When the details clearly state that it is one of your fellow yankees who came up with frying a twinkie.

  2. Irma says:

    OR…you could just tell them it’s a TEXAS thing and they wouldn’t understand…

  3. VIRGINIA says:

    WISH I HAD KEPT THE DALLAS MORNING NEWS ARTICLE FROM A COUPLE OF DAYS AGO…..LISTED ALL THE FRIED FOODS TO BE OFFERED THIS YEAR (AND IT IS STARTING SOON)….THERE WERE MANY NEW ITEMS LISTED….IT’S GETTING PRETTY RIDICULOUS NOW. FRIED EVERYTHING. REALLY. AND THE LATTE IS SOME SORT OF PASTRY DEEP FRIED WITH CARAMEL SAUCE AND COFFEE SOMETHING OR OTHER ON TOP…..OF COURSE, YOU KNOW RON & HIS PALS ALWAYS TAKE A DAY AND GO….THEY TRY ALL THE NEW “FOODS OF THE YEAR”…..SO WE’LL GET A FIRST-HAND REPORT PRETTY SOON….

    BTW….IF HILLARY DOESN’T GET ELECTED, YOU WILL NEVER EVER IN YOUR LIFETIME SEE A WOMAN ELECTED PRESIDENT. AS A FRONT-LINE FEMINIST (STARTING IN 1970)….I’VE WAITED FOR YEARS, AND IF NOT NOW, NEVER. AND I AM SAD ABOUT THAT. I KNOW SHE COULD DO A BETTER JOB THAN ANY ONE MAN RUNNING….OK, ARE YOU SPINNING YET??? HA HA YOU NOW I LOVE YOU AND YOUR POLITICS!!

    ARE YOU ON FOR MIAMI?

  4. Jennifer says:

    Oh Virginia, you know I love you and I am dying for a woman president soon, but I can’t do Hillary. Can’t Can’t Can’t Can’t! I have no respect for her, other then the fact she is a mast at the game of politics. But I don’t think she has what it takes to run the country. Sorry, but you saw that one coming. Condeleza…I could do, Hillary, no way. In fact, I have contemplated funding Obama or Edwards to ensure it isn’t Hillary. 🙂

    I am hoping to go to Miami, but its not looking good.

  5. Jennifer says:

    Oh yeah, anxiously awaiting that first hand report on the fried latte. Please post an update after Ron has attended!

Leave a Reply

