The Walk

UPDATE: The funeral will be Thursday at 11:00 a.m. at Julies Church, St. Jerome. Click Here for Funeral Information: http://www.lyonsfamily.org/?page_id=151

I miss her already. Julie Koch Lyons was the best friend anyone could have asked for. I am honored to have been called her best friend for the past 28 years. I never knew BFF (Best Friends Forever) could end so soon.

Jen and JulieJ&J
10 or 11 years old at the Houston Yacht club. We had not exactly mastered how to do the self portrait. (L-R: Julie, Jen…in case you can’t tell).

7thGrade2

Man, were we dorks or what. 7th grade…and even then I knew I wanted to be an Aggie.

JJSoftba

Me & Julie at a a Softball Game. We loved playing softball, we had the best coach, Julie’s Dad. We weren’t any good, but we had a really great time doing it. We played softball until our sophomore year of high school.

JJRingDunk

Julies Ring Dunk, 1994. An Aggie Tradition.

BostonFN

4:00 a.m. the night we moved to Boston in May 1993. We wanted to get out and see beyond Texas and experience life in another state. (This is where I learned that Texas really is the best place on earth). Julie really wanted to live on the East Coast and I demanded a big city near the water. Boston was our best choice. We had a blast. We moved there for the summer. We saw 17 states in 3 months. Julie wanted to stay and I considered it, until I found out the snow started arriving in October. Even then I hated snow!

1993jj

Julie & I in the back of a limo for a friends Bachlorette party in 1994. I love the smile….classic “Lets Have FUN” Julie look.

JenJulieBacks

I think this sums it all up. Julie & I walking together in Switzerland, August 2007. We have walked a million miles together in 28 years. I am so honored and lucky to have been able to walk them with an amazing courageous, smart, funny, vivacious woman like Julie Koch Lyons by my side. I love her. She may not physically be here but she is still walking beside me.

This entry was posted in Family, Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to The Walk

  1. Geneen says:

    Your pictures just made me cry. The last one is beautiful. Lots of hugs, Kerber. I know how you loved her. We’re here for you anytime. I’ll see you later this week.

  2. Angelica says:

    Not many people can say that they have kept the same best friend for 28 years. You were blessed, Jen. I am here for you whenever you need me.

  3. JFLO says:

    The time I finally get to met the famous “Kerber” was not how I imagined it would turn out. From the stories, blogs and conversations, there was no doubt that you two had a special bond as friends. I wish I could take the hurt away and I also wish I had just the right thing to say but for now my heart goes out to you along with the Lyon and Koch families.
    I will continue to keep all in my prayers and pray that God gives you the strength to get through this one day at a time.
    God Bless
    jflo

  4. April says:

    Hi Jen. I found your blog through the Lyons blog. I am so incredibly sorry for the loss of your best friend. Everytime I’ve read about you on their blog I’ve thought you truly embody what being an Aggie and best friend is all about. You and the Lyons family continue to be in my prayers. Blessings to all of you!

  5. G&C says:

    Julie will never forget you. I don’t know what is going to hapen from now. Nobody can know. But Julie will be always somewhere on your side guiding your walk.
    COURAGE

  6. Heather (Beaupre) Hummer says:

    Remember the Girl Scout song, Make new friends but keep the old, One is silver and the other ‘s Gold? That song always reminds me of you and Julie for some reason. She will continue to walk with you forever. You are in my prayers.

    Heather

  7. Pam C says:

    Praying for you all.

  8. Lynn says:

    My prayers are with you and the Kick family right now. You and Julie were the best of friends. It is great she had a friend like you in her life. She was such an awesome woman to know and have in your life. 🙂 She will be dearly missed by all.

  9. April says:

    Thanks for these gorgeous photos, wonderful memories. It’s impossible to find the right words … please know that I’m thinking of you, sending out lots of love and prayers. Love, April xo

  10. Nancy says:

    Jen,
    I miss her, too. You guys were what best friends should be. Your relationship with her was one of the most special relationships. Easy, hard, laughing, crying, complaining, confiding, joking, nurturing, loving. You are “Best Friends Forever”, even if she has to walk with you in spirit.
    I love you, Jen. I am here for you, always.
    Nancy

  11. Michelle says:

    Jen,

    What lovely pictures on your friendship with Julie.

    Much love,
    Michelle

  12. Peg says:

    I’m so sorry she is gone. I have friends that go back that far and I swear I have no idea how I’d manage their loss. I hope you have lots of love and support sustaining you today and in the coming months. Take gentle care of yourself. I’m just an Ant that came to Julie’s story via the web but you have all touched my heart.

  13. Jodi says:

    I am so sorry for your loss.

    Yes, I’ve never met you are Julie and Family . . but I feel like I know you. Through the blogging world I have seen the love, strength and friendship you all have.

    I have a best friend from high school . . going on 23 years and I can only imagine your pain. Allow yourself time through the journey of grief and know Julie is now looking over all of you and sending her love and courage to you.

    The pictures are great! Especially the one last week that holds so many memories from the past. I can tell you have a beautiful friendship!

    Peace!

  14. Care says:

    Loved the pictures. Beautiful post, Jen. Love ya.

  15. Kate says:

    Amen … couldn’t have said it better in words or pictures myself. I wish that I could be there, too, but circumstances being what they are, I can’t. We made it home OK … glad I got to be there for whatever brief moments that I could. Give me a call or shoot me an e-mail if you feel like talking, crying, hugging or whatever. I will be in touch, too. We love you very much!

  16. Audrey (Hanak) Furby says:

    Hi Jen…
    Thanks for sharing the pictures of you two over the years. Please e-mail with more information (reguarding funeral arrangements,etc.) IF there is anything I can do for Brendan/kids,you,etc. Please don’t hesitate to contact me–Geneen has most of the ways to get a hold of me. Count me in… for anything.

  17. Danny & Melissa says:

    Hi Jen, we were so sad to hear the news about Julie. Please let us know if there is anything we can do. You all are in our thoughts and prayers. Love Danny & Melissa

  18. April (England) says:

    Hi Again Jen, just wanted to look at these photos again. xo

  19. Aunt Debbie says:

    Jennifer, that is a great tribute to your friendship. I am sorry about the loss of your best friend. Julie was my first niece & godchild, and I always thought she would take care of me in my old age and maybe she will.

  20. Nicole says:

    I’m so sorry, Jen.
    I am going to keep my Tuesday evening date with the vampires, Dario and Jaime, in hopes that I can help someone fight, and win, their battle in memory of Julie.
    (hugs)

  21. Lesley Bond says:

    Jen, the photos were so touching – my heart is so heavy today. My family was so saddened to hear of her passing. Julie touched so many with her laughter, her huge heart and that smile that could light up a room! We love you and are there for you should you need anything.

  22. Tracie Cox says:

    A beautiful and priceless tribute to an amazing friendship. There aren’t many friendships that last as long as yours has or ones that have endured the tribulations.

    Thank you for being there for her even through the 7th grade “dork” phase….I can relate to that all too well!

    My heart aches for you and your loss as I too have been blessed with a life long best friend as you had in Julie. We’ve shared everything and I can’t imagine the pain you must feel by losing that important part of your life.

    Even though we’ve only recently become more acquainted during Julie’s battle please know that I’m here for you.

  23. Debbie Dodds says:

    Hi Jen. Thank you posting the photos. They made me smile. I enjoyed a peek at what I missed before I met Julie.

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I hope the wonderful memories you have with Julie will comfort you during this difficult time. You both shared such a wonderful friendship. I know Julie loved you so much. She spoke so highly of you & when we met I knew why. You are a wonderful, loving and caring friend.

    I will see you on Wednesday.
    Love, Debbie

  24. Kristin Weaver (Warren) says:

    Jen- I still remember Julie in High School even though we didn’t hang out. I feel like I have gotten to know yall again by the website. I am so sorry for your lose of a true friend. All the sorries don’t fix the pain I know. I lost my brother 6 years ago and I still miss him so much. I just want to pick up the phone and call him sometimes and then realize I can’t. I do know he is by my side quit a bit though. So knowing I have a gaurdian angel in him makes the pain a little easier. Hold on to the memories. You and Julie’s family are all in thoughts and prayers.

    Kristin

  25. Julia G-H says:

    Jennifer –

    I’m so very sorry for your tremendous loss. Thank you so much for reconnecting me with Julie again after all those years. She has been such an inspiration to me these last months. My heart and my prayers go out to you and to Julie’s family.

  26. Jen says:

    Jen, what a lovely tribute — I met Julie only once but you could see all the things you said about her ring so true. Much love to you, Brendan, the kids and the Koch family.

    Jen

  27. Milton says:

    Love You…. Let me know if there is anything i can do. See you Wed

  28. April says:

    Love the pics Kerber! They made me laugh and cry… I miss her too. Please let Jen and I know what we can do to help out. I’m here if you need to talk or vent or whatever.

    Much Love,

    -A

  29. Jen G says:

    Thanks for being strong and always being there for Julie and her whole family… you are the epitome of a best friend… stay strong!

    Love,

    Jen G

  30. C says:

    So sorry for your loss. May God wrap His arms around you and give you strength to walk through this time. Thanks for being a good friend and for the support you will undoubtedly be to her husband and kids.

  31. C & J says:

    Jen- what a great collection of pictures to share. We are so sorry for the loss of your best friend… thank you for being so strong & reminding us how precious life really is.
    Love, Christie & Jonathon

  32. Greg says:

    Now you have an – Angel!!

    GB

  33. Lynne Piper says:

    Hi Jen;

    I met you in the Lyons backyard the morning of Hallie’s birthday party. We were planting, etc., and I was at the table sitting with Julie.

    Anyway, just wanted you to know how sorry I am that you lost your best friend. It was clear you both shared a priceless friendship. Julie was so blessed to have such a devoted friend through her lifetime, all the way until she was safely Home.

    May God bless you and may you feel His peace and His presence.

    Lynne Piper

  34. Pingback: The Miracle of the Internet « Observations From The Nation's Capital

Leave a Reply

