The Funeral

First let me start by saying it was a beautiful day yesterday.  Sunny, few clouds, and about 72 degrees; Really an amazingly beautiful day.  I woke up with a heavy heart.  Nancy Saxton was with me and we both agreed it was a crappy day.  But, it was hard to keep with that theme when we saw how gorgeous it was outside.  We arrived at Julie’s church about 10:30 a.m. for the 11 a.m. service.  The place was already packed. 

The ceremony was great.  We had the youth choir involved (Julie loved them) and we had her three favorite priests.  Brendan provided the most amazing and moving eulogy for Julie.  Frankly, I have no idea how he got threw it, because everyone in the church was sobbing by the time he finished.  There is something to be said for belonging to a church. Because they knew Julie, they took care of everything.  We had a slide show that played during the wake.  It was 300 great photos of Julie with all theses amazing people in her life.  One lady at the wake pointed out that Julie was smiling in every single one of those pictures.  That was Julie.

We spent nearly an hour and a half after the wake with people getting up and telling stories about Julie.   I got up there and attempted to tell people how blessed I was to have been called her best friend for 28 years, no one else could say that.  Of course, I had to say it through tears, so I don’t know how well I was understood.  I know I was truly blessed, and I am okay with lettering her go.  I know I will see her on the other side. Although her death is not my choice, I understand why it happened and what I meant. Julie is an amazing Angel for God to pick.  She had done so much for so many people.  She has taught so many people (including me) to believe in God.  She has taught people about Melanoma and the need to get screened. I can only imagine the number of people she has reached through her suffering.  And the thing is, she was honored to do it.  It wasn’t her choice, but she believed in the calling of the Lord. She was willing to do that for us.

Anyway, the point of this post is let those of you who could not make it know how amazing her funeral was.  It was absolutely overwhelming to see the amount of people Julie touched with her amazing personality and big smile.  It was a day Julie would have loved.

I plan to upload more photos of Julie on this blog. I also plan to add the 300 photo slide-show from her wake to my Flickr Account.  That way you can all enjoy Julie as we did.

For now I want you all to know that I am thankful for every day I have here on this earth and I promise to live my life to the fullest. I hope you do the same. Julie would have wanted it that way.

 KIF_3184

DSCF0629

JulieDress

Img0110

This entry was posted in Family, Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Funeral

  1. Angie Morton says:

    Jen,
    I am so sorry I missed the speeches at the wake. But you are right, yesterday was a beautiful day and the funeral was very touching. Julie was loved by many. She was blessed to have you as a friend, and I feel the same way. Hugs, Angie.

  2. Heather ( Beaupre) Hummer says:

    Thank you for the post. I was unable to attend but I thought about her all day and even managed to make it to mass yesterday morning and say a prayer for her. Again thanks for the post and the pain will hopefully lessen each day for you.

    Heather

  3. Kristi says:

    Jen, I am so wishing I could of attended yesterday. I was thinking of Julie all day. I am SO sorry for your loss, sweetie. Jules was an amazing person and Heaven is a lot better with her there. Love and hugs to you.

  4. Peggy says:

    Been keeping you in my thoughts through the last couple of days. I can’t promise it will get easier any time soon but it sounds so much like those in Julie’s life are really approaching this terrible loss in the best ways possible. Hang in there and know so many are thinking of all of you who loved her. Take gentle care of yourself. Grief is a strange and unpredictable thing.

    Peg

  5. Aunt Debbie says:

    Jennifer, you were a true friend to the end. We will all miss Julie so much.

  6. “Whisper of the Angels”…. I recently met Jac through my stallion, which is at Jac and Joe’s ranch…. From all of the kind, heartfelt conversations we have had about the family…. I would like to express my deepest sympathy to the family…. Julie was the center of so many lives… Now to be watching over her loved ones…. If you listen quietly, openly, you WILL hear her as the “Whisper of the Angels”, the soft breeze, the flowers blooming in all you do… may God be with each and everyone that has been affected so traumatically, not thinking of her as a loss, but as a GAIN to the “Family of God”…. Again. Blessings to you.

  7. Running Mel says:

    Jen; You were a true friend to Julie in every sense of the word.
    F = Funny – you made her laugh. She loved your sense of humor!
    R = Retreat – You always provided a safe place for Julie to retreat to when life was hard.
    I = Interested – you were totally interested in Julie’s thoughts, dreams, hopes and aspirations and supported them fully. Just as she was in yours.
    E = Enduring – Your friendship endured many ups and downs in each other’s lives – but you always knew that you could count on each other to “be there” for the other.
    N = North (as in Due North) You were Julie’s due North. She always knew she could be herself with you.
    D = Devoted. You dropped whatever you were doing whenever she needed you. You were always there for her!

    Your memories with her may be painful right now – but over time the pain of the memory will dissipate and the warmth and joy of the times you had together will grow! I will be keeping you in my prayers!
    xxoo RM

  8. G&C says:

    We could not go to give the last tribute to Julie….. but we prefer to keep in our memory the image of that Julie who share with of all of us a little tiny part of her life here in Switzerland….. Julie thaught us a lof of things, we will never fporget her

  9. Hayleys says:

    Thank you for all that you have done to keep the Clear Lake bunch in touch and remembered. You truly were a BFF to Julie.

    Billie and Jerry

  10. Julia says:

    Thank you for posting, Jennifer. I really would have liked to have been there. I was definitely with you in spirit. What you wrote is really beautiful. I agree that God picked a wonderful angel.

  11. Brad says:

    Jen — thanks for this post and for the pics — they are awesome. Julie is very missed. I am thankful for our friendship and the others that I have made that are due to her.

Leave a Reply

