Missing Her

Grief is a funny thing, because it comes in waves.  One minute I am fine, the next minute I just miss her so much. Today is one of those days that I just miss her.  I want to see that smile again. I just want to hear her voice. I want to wonder with her in amazement  at how lucky we are to be such good friends.  I want to laugh at the stupid things we did in intermediate school, I want to dance with her to some country music, I want to sing some crazy song in the car with her, I want to laugh at something stupid one of us did, I want to dream about the things we will do when we are old and gray and sitting on the front porch of a beach house for our annual girls weekend. 

Today I just miss my friend.

Julie2

JUlie And I

She always got mad at me for not smiling with my Teeth. Every photo she has is a full on smile with all her teeth.  I think I am going to spend the rest of this week smiling like Julie. 

JulieFamily2

This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Missing Her

  1. Irma says:

    I need to stop reading your post first thing in the morning. I miss her too…some days, some hours are just really hard.

  2. hhummer says:

    Both of your smiles are contagious!!

  3. Care says:

    I totally hear ya, Jen… Some days / some moments are better than others.

    I love both of the pictures you posted! The first one is totally fun Julie! 🙂 I’ll never forget the night the second one was taken. What a special memory.

    Hang in there. Love ya!!

  4. jackson4 says:

    I could use a good Crying session if anyone wants to get together and share stories!!! Maybe throw in a hug?

    I absolutely love those photos that Kim took in October of 06 (the one used in the obituary…that is so weird to type referring to my sisters pic). She looks so good in those pictures.

  5. judith oyen says:

    I lost my childhood best friend when we were 18. I still miss her at age 50. I’m so sorry for your grief.

    Judith

  6. Pam C says:

    Best advice I ever got was from my best friend. She taught me to “fake it till you make it.” Slap a great big smile on your face and remember to flash your teeth the way she told you. I didn’t know Julie outside your and the Lyons blogs, but know what a great person and friend she was through what you all have shared with us about your best friend.
    ((Hugs)) and hang in there!

  7. Aunt Debbie says:

    I have actually called Julie’s cell phone number a few times just to hear her answer it. That is weird but it is an easy way to make it seem like she is not gone since we really didn’t have daily or sometimes weekly contact.

  8. Tammie (Willingham) Drew says:

    Jen,
    I just thank God Julie had a friend like you to be by her side through all she has been through.Reading the posts on her site I see the depth of love you had for her.I know things will be hard, but you know that the last thing Julie would want is to see tears.You look at every picture she has and she has got the biggest smile shinning like the sun.I know how hard it is to lose someone.Crying is ok and is expected.The more you talk about her the easier it gets.Remembering the good memories from Intermediate up till her death is what is in your heart to stay.That is why I am a firm believer in sharing your heart with the people you love because you never know when God will take them home.Jen, I just wanted you to hear that I think you were an amazing friend to her and I know you will continue to look after her family.God bless you and we all miss her.

Leave a Reply

