The Winter Chronicles 2008

“We have a small winter storm affecting our area today.”

 

That was the radio voice that awoke me at 6:30 this morning.  Lovely!  Apparently we were supposed to have about 4” of snow fall today.  I knew it was going to be one of those days.  I bundled up and headed to work (hat, scarf, coat, gloves, etc).  It wasn’t until I ventured outside for a lunch meeting that I realized I was severely out of practice for this type of weather.  I had forgotten to wear (or bring) my snow boots.  As I start walking to my meeting the snow really starts falling.  When I arrive at my destination my toes are freezing, my coat, scarf and pants are wet and my glasses are speckled with water spots from the snow.  I then have to take off my wet hat, coat, scarf, and gloves and look for a convenient place to leave them to dry out.  I am chilled to the bone because of the below freezing temperatures and then I am forced to smile and nod when people say, “Ah isn’t it pretty.” or “Mmm, it’s about time we got some winter weather!”  Then, in the name of good business etiquette I am forced to put on a big smile and say cheerily, “Oh yes, it is really snowing out there.”  Naturally in my head all I can think is how these people must be crazy and have no idea that there are places completely void of snow year round.  These people don’t realize the sheer bliss of not bundling up, not having wet socks and shoes, not carrying lots of extra gear due to the weather, not having to shovel your car out of its parking spot.  It really is a blessing to have the option to fly to a snow filled area and not have to live in it.

 

As I am walking back to the office I am praying to God that he not let me wipe out on the snow/ice/slush concoction which now covers the sidewalk.  It was only when I started feeling cold ice hit my chest I realize that I had forgotten to get fully dressed in my cold weather gear. You see, I left my scarf in my purse and as luck would have it a few snow flakes were getting past the coat, the suit jacket, and the shirt to find a very small opening in which to hit me.  There is nothing quiet as refreshing as having cold snow/ice stream down your chest.   

 

Needless to say, the commute home was a nightmare and took forever.  But, at the end of the day I have to reflect on how far I have come.  There was a time not to many years ago where it was just an understood rule that I did not go to work if it snowed…I certainly would not have ventured out in a 4” snow storm!  (I had an old boss who would come pick me up when it snowed.  I recognized my limitation of being a Texan and did not want to drive in a situation that I had no business driving in!)

 

Great news, apparently there is more coming this weekend.  Oh the joy!  How did I get so lucky?

This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Winter Chronicles 2008

  1. Angie Morton says:

    The Winter Chronicles are my fave! It is pretty chilly in Houston today…high of only 48! BBBRRRRR!!!

  2. Susan says:

    Hi Jen – I hope you don’t mind that I have read your blog – got it off of Brendan’s – i had a question about your post on 12/12 ( i think that’s the date?) We had never thought of putting a doggy door in a window!! SO COOL – but isn’t it too big – that a person could fit thru?

    Hope it is warming up for you – I used to live in Springfield, so I feel for you! We are in FL now – and love it!! 🙂 Praying for you and Brendan’s family!

  3. Brendan says:

    What’s the word I am looking for???? Oh yeah… It’s…

    WHAAAAAAAAAAAA

  4. Brad says:

    Just got back from Chicago yesterday after working a game — it was -2!!!!! And that is *without* wind chill! Confirms why I will NEVER live in the north!!

    Got back to Houston and everyone was “freezing” down here because it was in the 40s … I was happy without any jacket because it felt like summer after being up in the windy city!

Leave a Reply

