I Just Saw the Pope

How cool is that?  I saw the leader of the Holy Roman Catholic Church.  It reminds me of why I love living in D.C.  The opportunity to do or see once in a lifetime things happens a bit more often here then in Houston.

 

It was really amazing!  I took our interns and we raced to grab a spot on Pennsylvania Avenue so we could catch a glimpse of the Pope.  (I could have attended the ceremony with the President and the Pope at the White House this morning (one of the 13,000 attendees on the South Lawn), but I had to cover a meeting.)  😦

 

We caught the Pope in the Popemobile leaving the White House and heading to the Vatican Embassy.  (Please note in the picture that the Popemobile is a Mercedes.)  I even got a little Vatican Flag.  It was cool because as the Popemobile got close the crowd went crazy!  You could hear audible gasps of excitement as he neared. I was a little shocked because the Popemobile was going a bit faster then expected.  We actually lucked out…we got to our spot on Pennsylvania Avenue with 30 seconds to spare.  Had the Metro been a little bit later, I would have missed the Pope.  Too bad I didn’t get tickets to Mass tomorrow…that would have been really amazing. 

 

BTW – Did you see that this is the first time in recorded history a President has greeted a world dignitary at Andrews’s Air Force base.  Most of the time, they meet at the White House.  I guess since he is “The Man, next to the Man”, President Bush could greet him as soon as he arrived in the U.S.  

 

Notice the Secret Service behind him standing on the SUV.  Even with all that security, and the bullet-proof shield around the Pope-mobile, he was still hauling pretty quickly thru the streets.

 

Pope3

 There he is…in his Pope-Mobile. 

100_2846 

 

100_2847

 

100_2861

The Vatican Flag they were handing out for Free

 

100_2852

Spring is finally here. It was a gorgeous day, nearly 75 degrees and the Tulips look awesome!

 

 

This entry was posted in Life in general, Political Rantings. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Just Saw the Pope

  1. Brendan says:

    Boog.. How can you make fun of the Sonic Sign when you write…”The opportunity to do or see once in a lifetime things happens a bit more often here then in Houston.”??? Come on Boog… you are better THAN that!

  2. jkerber says:

    Its my blog, I like what I wrote. 🙂 I think you understand what I wrote AND I did not miss use the word our/are or worm/wurm/wirm.

  3. Heather says:

    That is so coll that you got to see the Pope! I am sure just one of the many perks of living in DC.

  4. Irma says:

    Kevin would say that if the Pope is going to “speed” he should make his pope mobile a BMW…

  5. tran says:

    at least she posts!!!!

Leave a Reply

