My Favorite Tradition

Aggie Muster is my favorite tradition, however it has never hit close to home until this year.  For all you non-Texas A&M Alumni let me take a few minutes and tell you about Aggie Muster.  Every year on April 21 we Aggies get together to honor those of us who have died in the past year.  We have a Roll Call and call the names of everyone who has died during the previous year.  It is a fantastic tradition where we conduct a Roll Call of the dead and someone answers “Here” for them.  The general rule is, “If there is an A&M man in one hundred miles of you, you are expected to get together, eat a little, and live over the days you spent at the A&M and honor those who have past.”  There are Aggie Muster’s all over the world and in every U.S. State.  Muster has been a tradition since the late 1800.  Starting during WWI (A&M was an all male military school and continues to be a school with a large Corp of Cadets and commitment to the military) Aggies decided to make April 21 the official Muster date.  

 

Julie was an Aggie.  So, on Monday, we will honor Julie.

 

You don’t have to be an Aggie to attend.  In fact, if you visit Here , you can find a Muster near you.  You just need to let them know that you want to attend on behalf of Julie Lyons.  You can answer “Here” for Julie (if anyone does this let me know).   

I am headed to Houston tomorrow to attend Muster. I could have attended the Muster in Washington, D.C. but it’s a long drawn out story and they are hosting it in a bar.  This is the one year where I actually have someone I want to answer “Here” for and I refuse to do it in a bar.  If you are in Houston and want to go with us, we are going to Muster on Monday at the Edwin Hornberger Conf. Center.

 

This event is something that always takes my breath away and makes me proud to be an Aggie.  I would love to share it with you.

This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Favorite Tradition

  1. Heather says:

    This is just one of the reasons I love A&M. They are so strong on traditions! I know you will make Julie proud when you answer “Here” for her.

  2. Carrie says:

    Sigh… this made me cry.

    – From one of your favorite Longhorns

Leave a Reply

