Letting it all sink in

Today I went for a long walk. I walked the street where Bear died.  It was a gorgeous blue clear sky day and I saw the site of the accident. I just wish I could have pictured everything.  I did a lot of walking and thinking and crying. 

 

We don’t really know a whole lot about the accident but it seams likes Bear was traveling at a high rate of speed when he clipped a car.  As I said previously, he was not wearing a helmet.  Some poor 18 year old boy witnessed the accident and stopped to try and help.  He was covered in blood and hysterical when the police arrived.  We feel so bad for this boy.  I can only imagine how hard that must have been on him.  

 

It doesn’t really matter what happened or how it happened.  According to the police and paramedics Bear was basically brain dead on impact.  By some miracle, God’s miracle, they were able to intubate him (open his airway) and get him to the hospital.   I say this was God’s miracle because without this, he never would have been able to donate his organs.  And this final gift of organ donation was so very Bear.  I think this would be so much worse if we did not have that ray of sunshine.  After 6 months the families that received the organs can contact our family.  I hope they do, I think a few success stories would really warm our hearts.  

 

We are planning a big party for after the funeral.  Bear loved a good party.   He loved good music, cold beer, and spending time with family and friends.  So that is what we are going to do after the funeral. We have two tents, tables and chairs, lots of food and drinks.  We have even rented a DJ.  

 

On Saturday we will say goodbye in classic Bear style.  If you are coming to the funeral, I hope you will join us afterwards.   As Bear liked to say, “We are going to tear it up.”

This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Letting it all sink in

  1. Theresa in KY says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. What a devastating thing to happen to your family.

    Some friends of ours lost their brother-in-law several months ago in exactly the same way. He was going too fast and clipped a truck. No helmet. He was also an organ donor.

    Sounds like your celebration of his life is exactly what he would have wanted.

  2. Running Mel says:

    Sorry to hear about Bear, Jen. Know that you and your family will be in my prayers this week-end.

  3. Nancy says:

    Jen – I know there isn’t much that I or anyone can say to make sense of this terrible accident. It is so hard to believe that it is real. I’m just so sorry that you all have to go through it.

    I think it’s great that y’all are having a true celebration of his life. That should definitely help the healing process.

    I love you and your family. Please pass along my deepest sympathies.
    Nan

  4. Nanwil says:

    Jen,

    Know that you are in my thoughts and prayers this weekend. I am so sorry for your loss.
    Love and Prayers,
    Nanwil

Leave a Reply

