Rants

I am so sick of waking up every morning and the first thing I hear on the news is that the price of gas went up by a Penney.   I don’t care!  I am not getting a day by day update on the rising price of milk, which I drink a lot of it.  Yes, I understand, gas prices are rising.  It’s called supply and demand…go back to Economics 101 if you don’t remember how this works.  The fact is we live in a global economy.  Just because gas consumption in America is down (which it is), does not mean gas prices will decrease.  You need to talk to the rapidly developing Asian countries (China & India).

I am sorry McCain, but putting a moratorium on the gas tax will only reduce the price of gas by a few pennies.  This will cause a huge deficit in our transportation funding (which is funded by the gas tax).  I have enough problems with large pot holes and road construction; please don’t deplete the nation’s transportation funds.   

Additionally, I really don’t want to hear one more word about “windfall” profits of the Oil Companies.  News Flash Folks: 6-7% profit is not a windfall.  Ask any business owner and 6-7% profit isn’t living the high life.  Now, it seems a bit more alarming because that profit happens to have a “billion” on the end of it.  It just happens that these companies invested in something that is in high demand and they can’t produce enough of it .  If you want to talk about windfall profits, let’s look at Google, who has a 25% profit margin.  I don’t see Senator Clinton seeking to put a windfall tax on them.

I have a plan: Open up areas with Oil in the US and offshore and start drilling; build refineries; maximize our investment in alternative fuels; promote nuclear energy (much safer and cleaner these days); provide investment incentives for alternative fuels, gas exploration and development.

But please please please quit whining.  Buck up folks.  High gas prices are here to stay.  Sure, I remember being 16 and driving around looking for gas under $1.00 p/gallon so I could fill up my 9 miles per gallon 1967 Mustang.  Those days are over.  They ain’t coming back.  As with anything, we need to adjust to the new reality.  

·         And while I am on a tear, I think it is clear Mr. McClellan is looking to make some money on his book.  He certainly didn’t leave disgruntled and by all accounts was very happy with his job.  If he wanted to write an account of things he could have used less inflammatory words.   I would be happy to read his book, however I will not be spending one dime on it.

·         Susan Sarandon says she may check out of the U.S. if McCain wins: “I’ll be checking out a move to Italy. Maybe Canada, I don’t know.”  Please, didn’t you say that 8 years ago?  It’s not really a threat if you don’t follow through with it. 

This entry was posted in Life in general, Political Rantings. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rants

  1. Irma says:

    You’re BAAAACK, and I love it!

  2. Gotta disagree with you here Jenn. Gas prices are over inflated and the O&G companies are raking in the money. I work in the industry and i see their spend. Do not kid yourself. Supply and Demand is not driving this issue… Demand (as noted by you) is down but the prices keep going up. Also, I disagree that high prices are here to stay. We will never see $1 a gallon again but 4 bucks is absurd. It will cave eventually.

  3. Brad says:

    Hey Boog – good to see your pics on the Lyons’ blog … Brendan and I found that if we comment on certain photos they show up in the banner — how cool is that?!?!?

  4. Theresa in KY says:

    I’m afraid you’re right on–about every point. Love your commentary.

  5. Becky says:

    Love it!!!! As a friend of mine says, “you can’t fix stupid”. 🙂

Leave a Reply

