The Annual 4th of July Trip

It’s my favorite time of the year, the 4th of July (my favorite holiday) and the annual Tubing Trip with friends.  This will be our 12th year and the core group has really grown (mainly because people keep having kids!)  The Adults are on the verge of being out numbered by the kids.  It used to be we would go from state park to state park and camp out.  I was beside myself with happiness in early 2000 when we started renting a House. I am not a camper.  This year we have two houses and 38 people going. 

 

Another thing I love about the 4th of July trip is to see what sort of “contraption” the boys have developed to make tubing “easier”.  You see we have an engineer, a construction management guru, and a bunch of boys that like to play with things.  For years they have been trying to invent the best method for getting the tubes and the people to the river using as few vehicles as possible.  I will be sure to take pictures of what they have developed.  I think we might actually have something this year as they past few years the tube contraption has not worked. I think several years of trial and error might have given us a finished product this year.

 

You can read about our 4th of July Tubing Trip during the 100 year flood in the Texas Hill Country here.  Although we had a good time, this rates as one of the Top 10 Stupid Things I have done in my life. 

 

Click Here and you can also read about Buc-ee’s and my obsession for finding the best beef jerky in the state of Texas (this obsession only became heightened when I moved to D.C.).  This time tomorrow, I will have secured enough Buc-ee’s beef jerky for me and my colleagues. 

 

Julie & the 4th of July

This year will be hard for all of us.  This trip started out as a camping trip and was Julie’s idea.  It is the trip where Julie & Brendan first met.  It is the trip where Janene said to Julie, “Girlfriend…get that mole checkout!”  Julie loved the Frio River and Concan and she loved tubing with friends.  It will be hard for all of us to be there without her.  But, it will be good for all of us to be together.   The last time we were really all together was Julie’s funeral, and maybe the annual holiday party.

 

We like to take group pictures at the end of every trip.  Here are a few.

Camping 1997 

Camping Trip…1997 ish? Year 2 I think

 

Camping 2000

2000

 

Camping 2001

2001

 

Julie Frio

Classic Julie on the Frio

 

I will post a recap of the Trip sometime next week.  Happy 4th of July!  Just think about what the day means…very powerful.

This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Annual 4th of July Trip

  1. laylawolken says:

    Y’all have a good time! I haven’t checked the water levels lately (you can check it online), but when we were out there last month, the water was really low. Hopefully it’s somewhere between that and flood level for you guys!

    Be safe!

  2. Angie Morton says:

    We just got back from Concan on Monday! The river was extremely low. Had to walk a lot during the tube but still a blast.

    Buc-ee’s is the bomb! You MUST try to the Beaver Nuggets. I know, I was leary at first to, but OMG they are so good.

    Have fun!

  3. Aunt Debbie says:

    Jennifer, I hope you guys had a good weekend even though I know it was bittersweet with Julie not there. I was thinking that Brendan would be setting up a tent with 3 kids in tow but I guess the camping days are over.

  4. Pingback: Handle Life With Care

Leave a Reply

