Why is Customer Service So Hard????

This is an actual conversation with a Rental Car Reservation Agent that just occurred.  I was calling to make a change on my rental car reservation for this Inaugural festivities weekend.   We had it reserved for pickup at 10 am but we were not going to be able to get it until 2 p.m. so I just wanted to make sure it was going to be there at 2 p.m.   So I told them we will not be picking it up until 2 p.m.

“Ummm, Okay, let me make the change.   Okay, so the new rental charge is going to be $10,000 (actual rate has been changed to protect the price gougers and us for paying it.”

“What? Why is it more?  I was only paying $9,800 (what the lady really told me is that it would be $200 more).”

“Well let me confirm….(click click click of her computer) Yes Ma’am, it is going to be $10,000”

“Why did it go up $200 if I renting the car for 4 hour less.”

“Well I don’t know Ma’am but that is what it says here.  Hold on, let me double check.”  (She puts me on hold and does GOD KNOWS WHAT!)  She returns, “Yes Ma’am, that does increase the cost.”

“Does that even make sense to you?”

“Well I don’t know but that is what is says right here, that is what the computer says.”

“Well let me ask you a question.  If I have a reservation for 10 a.m. but I am unable to pick the car up till, oh lets say, 2 p.m., will you still have a car waiting for me?

“Oh Yes Ma’am, when you make a reservation we hold the car for you because sometimes flights get delayed and we understand.”

“Okay, so, what you are telling me is that, Yes, the car will still be there for me if I am running…say 4 hours late, however, if I call you and try to change my pick up time to 4 hours later..it is going to cost me $200.”

“Well that is what is says here.”

“Does that make sense to you”

“Why yes it does”

“Really that makes sense to you.  You often pay more for less”

“Well I can’t help what the computer says….but that makes sense for me”

“Fantastic, I know understand your problem.  Please let me speak to your Manager.”

“All right but he ain’t gonna tell you no different.”

 

Well in fact he did. He was able to discover a glitch in the computer and was able to override the “perfectly normal” additional $200 for 4 hours less rental.

This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Why is Customer Service So Hard????

  1. Carrie says:

    Cracking up that you came out of your blog hiatus to post this… What a horribly frustrating experience! Unbelievable.

  2. Lynn says:

    That’s hilarious! At least you got it straightened out and don’t have to pay $10,000 for the car….

  3. Kathy says:

    I have to check on you more often….you really crack me up!

  4. Irma says:

    Customer Service is soooo Hard because more and more people are less and less intelligent. We (as a country) are getting to idiot level…God help us all!

  5. Lesley says:

    I just love how everyone just trusts the computer and doesn’t actually apply common sense!

  6. Joe says:

    Irma, I am so glad to hear that someone agrees with me on this country becoming more idiotic. I have been saying for the last 2 years that I think the younger people are losing intelligence and a lack of commen sense. I even spoke on this issue with Jac’s dad and he said it is the same way in Germany. Through our ever vigilant process of trying to computerize everything and automate as much as possible, we have taken away peoples need to think. We have even automated kids thought process in that when they sit down in front of a gaming system, it tells them how to think and how to have fun, gone are the days of using an imagination to come up with something to do. Just insert and push play and shut down the mind and the game will do the rest.

  7. jackson4 says:

    cracking up. I read this out loud to coworkers!

    Love the new look.

  8. Amy says:

    Totally funny! My two cents…I don’t necessarily think that we’re becoming more idiotic, as much as it laziness and selfishness. People in customer service don’t want to be courteous and got the extra mile. Isn’t that your job??And yes, in this electronic world, younger generations are having to think a whole lot less…take it from this TEACHER, I witness that first hand!

  9. Brad says:

    LOL @ this … you are such a travel nit for calling to check that your rental car would still be there! 🙂

  10. jkerber says:

    I am not a Travel Nit, I am a planner, I like to make sure that all potential SNAFU’s are avoided…especially when 2 million people are coming to town! 🙂

  11. Brad says:

    Number of times I have ever called a rental car company to confirm that they would have a car for me: 0

    Number of times a rental company has ever NOT had a car for me: 0

    Jus’ sayin’ 🙂

  12. jkerber says:

    Number of times you have reserved a rental car during the 2nd coming of Jesus Christ? 🙂

    But, now I will never call or doubt again.

Leave a Reply

