An Amazing Gift

Today I got to experience the miracle of life.  A friend of mine from grade school asked me to be in the delivery room with her and her husband for the birth of their first son.  Jen’s Mom & Sister are in Houston and were not able to be in town and I think she just wanted a little extra support.  With my crazy schedule I was worried I might not be able to be there, but the Lord did his magic and it all worked out.

 

Jen went into labor at Noon yesterday and delivered a beautiful healthy baby boy, Jake, at 5:18 a.m. this morning.  She was a trooper!  The epidural did not take so she has Jake the natural way.  He was 7 lbs and 14 hours and she was in a tremendous amount of pain.  After 15 hours in labor and an hour and half of that pushing, she was exhausted.  Of course the end result made it all worthwhile.

 

I was in complete awe.  What an amazing thing to see a baby come out, start breathing, crying, and then slowly absorb his surroundings.  They got him all cleaned up and he had 10 fingers and 10 toes and was so alert and awake.  He is simply precious.

 

I am not ever sure I can thank Jen enough for the gift she gave me today.  It was simply amazing.  Now I know why they call it the miracle of life.  It was a miracle.

 

Jake

Pictures of Mom were expressly forbidden by Mom (and when Jen puts her foot down…you listen).  But, I hope to get one of Mom, Dad, and Jake tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Amazing Gift

  1. Angie Morton says:

    I can relate to no epidural, so tell Jen I felt her pain. Awesome you got to be there!

  2. Nancy says:

    Awesome… I’m so glad you were able to be there for Jen. What a fantastic gift.

    Please tell her I said congratulations!!!

  3. jackson4 says:

    i LOVE that you got to experience it. Not many people do and it is truly amazing. Sherri and Brad let me be in the room when Addie was born. now you can use the line I always do “I saw you first!!!”

  4. Michelle says:

    yah baby Jake!

Leave a Reply

