Stimulus Smimulus

I have been waiting hoping I would have a good blog post about the Shuttle Launch.  I have scored Congressional Viewing tickets (thanks Barrios) but they keep moving the Shuttle Launch.  Perhaps I will get to see it in the next two weeks.  I am very excited, I have always wanted to see the Shuttle Launch and it is even more exciting now that I am lobbying on space issues.  I will take LOTS of photos.

A Little Bit of Politics:

Every morning when I wake up I learn of how we are growing the government. It stresses me out.  We are putting LOTS of money into this and into that…bailing out this industry, creating a housing package, bailing out people who made bad decisions, bailing out companies that can’t figure out how to be profitable, we are even talking about nationalizing the banking system.   Does it worry anyone else?

Did you know this week is Fiscal Responsibility Week?  I am not joking, I am serious.  The Administration has declared this Fiscal Responsibility Week.  Each day they will focus on fiscal responsibility measures.  Yesterday they vowed to cut the deficit in half by 2013.  I think that sounds great, I am 100% on board with the goal.  But how?  How are we cutting the deficit after having just passed a $787.2 billion “Stimulus” package?  We recently bailed out the financial companies (twice) and the Auto industry (Dec 2008 & they are back asking for more).  There is another $350 billion bank bailout and a $75 billion housing relief plan on the table right now.  Every time I turn around we are spending money!

According to a Bloomberg article, the recent “Recovery Act” raise the government’s commitment to solving the financial crisis to $9.7 trillion, enough to pay off more than 90% of the nation’s home mortgages.  (I put Recovery Act in quotes because I love how it went from being a Stimulus package to a recovery package…because it is harder to justify this stimulates anything immediately). 

When will the insanity stop?  How much are we going to borrow?  And do you really think we can pay ALL of this back by just having a tax increase on the wealthy?  We are charging things on credit that will take us forever to payback.

Despite all my frustration above, I don’t know what the answer is to solve our economic woes.  I was willing to try some things that we haven’t done in the past. But I think we have gone over the deep end and are digging ourselves a big hole. 

This entry was posted in Life in general, Political Rantings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stimulus Smimulus

  1. Heather says:

    I have heard the “Stimulus Package” called the “Steal From Us Package.” I kinda like that one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

