Am I Crazy???

I never in a million years thought I would be here..”here” being about to do a half marathon on Sunday. I look at this course and think…am I really going to do this?  Well, it hasn’t happened yet, but I am going to try on Sunday.  It is amazing what makes you do things you would never have done.  This marathon benefits Julies charity and Julie was an avid runner.  So it only makes sense that I am going to participate in this event (walking though….I long ago gave up running.).  In fact the “gang” is participating. The “gang” is a large group of friends who have been together for an average of 20 years, and Julie is what brought us all together.  It is going to be an amazing event.

 

Race

I spent the evening tonight thoroughly enjoying the company of 6 good, long term friends (some I have known for 25 years).  I am sorry it has taken me this long to slow up and smell the roses, enjoy the small things.  But now I do, and tonight was one of those small things that I cherish.  I don’t think any of us would have fathomed that we would be here today…about to run/walk a half marathon.  But Julie brought us here, and with our strong bond of friendship and support I am hoping ALL of us are going to cross that finish line.  Our goal is to not be picked up by the Course Marshall!  (Apparently if you don’t cross certain points by a certain time they pick you and make you get out of the race!).  So, think if me on Sunday and pray for me to run faster then the Course Marshalls!

This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Am I Crazy???

  1. jackson4 says:

    it’s really not so scary to look at it now, is it? We’ve CONQUERED!

Leave a Reply

