We Did It!

I would never have imagined, but I actually finished a Half Marathon this Weekend…and I might even do it again!  There have been so many things I have done that I never would have imagined, thanks to Julie.  This was one of those things.  Julie enjoyed running and actually ran a Marathon when she was pregnant with Jackson.  When I crossed the finish line this weekend I thought, “Good Lord, this is only half..how the heck did Julie do another 13.1 miles?” 

 

The half marathon was run by Frankie & Angie, friends of ours for some time.  We (me and Julie and many of the “Gang”) went to Intermediate school with Frankie.  He and Angie were very supportive of Julie and family when she was sick and they have continued to work for Julie’s foundation.  Angie’s Half Crazy Half Marathon raised $10,000 for Julie’s Beat The Hell Outta Melanoma Foundation.  What an amazing gift.  Think about all the treatment, relief, comfort that can bring a melanoma patient at M.D. Anderson.  Julie would have LOVED the idea that a half marathon raised money for fellow melanoma patients.  She loved running, she loved helping people, and she was an activist for melanoma education. 

 

Yes, I am not going to lie, there were parts of it that were miserable, mainly mile 8-11.  I have never had my feet and legs hurt so much.  I knew things were crazy when at mile 11 it started to feel better running than walking.  But, it was a great feeling to cross that finish line and to do it with the Gang.  I am so proud of everyone! 

 

Yesterday afternoon was a bit rough; in fact I could hardly walk.  But today, I am moving, sore, but moving.  But, I think I might actually do it again.

 

Gang…same time next year???

 

Marathonmorning

5:30 am., getting ready to start.

 

Marathon

Me, Tenequa, Cari & Janene

 

Marathon2

Wendy, Christie, Me, Mark

This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to We Did It!

  1. Carrie says:

    So amazing, Jen!! Awesome, awesome.

    Glad you got some pictures. Looking forward to seeing the official ones they got out on the course.

  2. Debbie says:

    Congratulations, Jen! I am so proud of you and entire gang…and we know Julie is proud of you all!

  3. Geneen says:

    I’m proud of you! Great job!

Leave a Reply

