Aggie Muster & Converting the Masses

Yesterday, April 21 was Aggie Muster and each year at this time I post something about it. It is by far my favorite Aggie tradition, but it has become more special since Julie died.  Aggie Muster is where we honor those Aggies who have passed away.   At the ceremony we call the name of those who have died in the past year and we light a candle for them.  At the end of the ceremony Taps is played and there is not a dry eye in the house.

Last year, I traveled to Houston to be with friends & family for Aggie Muster because Julie’s name would be called.  Unfortunately, I ended up missing most of the guest speaker and the ceremony because Julie’s youngest daughter was rather talkative and fidgety.  So I ended up with an 18 month old running around in a room outside the main Muster room.   I was sad to miss it, but I also knew that Julie would have wanted me to take care of Kendall so the others could enjoy Muster.

This year’s Muster was very emotional for me.  I did not expect it at all but I think because I had not heard the ceremony last year I was not able to fully reflect on the service.   It was a fantastic event.  Our guest speaker was one of my fellow board members who happens to be a retired General who has served a tour in every war/conflict since Vietnam (and often he served more than one tour!).  He highlighted something in his speech that really struck me. 

·         A&M taught him the true meaning of selfless service…realizing that you are part of something bigger than yourself.  It was what has motivated him to service his country for the last 50 years.  I don’t know why, but I just loved the articulation about what “selfless service” is and I hope that I can keep that in perspective as I move forward.

Anyway, the best part of the evening came at the end.  I took two of the Interns from my Office (non-Aggies) to Muster last night.  One is going to school in Massachusetts and the other one in Oklahoma.   They thoroughly enjoyed it, even though I warned them that it can be rather cult like to those on the outside (What is that old saying on campus…From The Inside Looking Out You Can’t Explain It, From The Outside Looking In You Can’t Understand It.).  But the best part was at the end when one of the Interns turned to me and said, “If I had come to one of these before I picked my College I would have been an Aggie.”

Love it! 

This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Aggie Muster & Converting the Masses

  1. Joe says:

    Good story Boog. God Bless the Aggies. I find it interesting to hear someone in politics(not the good General), speak of selfless service. Kind of ironic with all the ear marking =)

Leave a Reply

