Bear, Have you taken over Heaven yet?

Bear

It is hard to believe it has been a year since Bear passed awayI would say we have all adjusted, but it doesn’t mean we don’t miss him everyday.  I re-read Rob’s eulogy and it brought tears to my eyes.  It was a great eulogy.  

3 cousins and a friend

The family and Matt (who is basically family by now)

 

We just had the annual crawfish boil and Bear was sorely missed. He was always the guy who helped cook the crawfish and stayed with Greg the entire time.  I wish we knew more about the people who received his organs.

 

100_2702

I was home this weekend and drove by the accident site.  His cross was still there and he had fresh flowers.  It sort of took my breath away at first.  I just wasn’t expecting it to still be going strong.

 

I keep trying to figure out which is better; to lose someone suddenly or to know they are dying over a period of time.  I had both in a short 6 month period.  Neither case is easy but I was at such peace with having time to make everything right by Julie.  The good news is Bear knew I loved him, but I will always wish I could have told him.

 

Last week my friend Jill’s father died suddenly from a heart attack.  She was scheduled to visit him this week.  (He lived in North Carolina, she lived in Florida).  Unfortunately she found out at work and she was hysterical.  When I heard the news my heart just broke.  I could completely imagine being Jill and getting that news while I am 2000 miles away from home.  (I can tell you nothing stinks more than flying home for an emergency…I have done several continental flights at that crying-mess-girl).    In fact, it made me call home and tell my Dad I loved him.  I just wanted to make sure there was nothing left unsaid.  We have no idea where life will lead us next.  You have to live it to the fullest and never take anything for granted. 

 

So, if you are reading this I hope you know I cherish your friendship and love you dearly (I figure most of my readers are my friends and family…). ) :

Tags:
This entry was posted in Family, Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bear, Have you taken over Heaven yet?

  1. Carrie says:

    Good post, Jen… Thanks. You too are loved and appreciated so much.

  2. Angie Morton says:

    Even though I didn’t know Bear, I know he was loved. Rob’s eulogy was so touching. Love you, girl.

  3. erstwhile says:

    What a sweet post, Jennifer. It is hitting close to home with me. Ashley (Julie’s flower girl in her wedding) lost her mother, as you know unexpectedly on Monday. At first they thought it was from cancer (she has had breast cancer, but been in remission) but now they are awaiting the autopsy results. She was only 34 years old. Ashley’s life is changed forever. I wish she could have said good-bye to her mom.
    I am sorry about your cousin.

  4. shirl says:

    …and “things” do always keep popping up at unexpected times.
    The charms that Marty gave us—“The Heart Remembers”…

    shirl

Leave a Reply

