Middle of the Night Antics with Carson

I had a lovely Carson (my dog) experience the other night.   I have relayed my Carson issues to you on this blog before.  He is a great dog but on occasion he likes to wake me in the middle of the night.  I am not good in the middle of the night…I need a solid 6 hours of sleep.  I am cranky when I am awoken in the middle of the night.  So, on Friday night about 4 a.m. I hear Carson walking back and forth loudly on the hard wood floor (click…click…click…click) outside my door, he then bursts into my room shoving the door open with a bang, he starts shaking his collar (clang clang clang) and then he huffs a few times all while loudly slamming his feet into the floor.  (I am serious…this is his normal “I need you to wake up now routine.”  It is really effective and highly annoying).  Like all good mom’s I attempt to ignore it.  He continues.  He starts pacing back and forth, huffing and puffing so I say, “Carson, Stop it.”  And he stops for about 10 minutes…then the whole routine starts again.  I am now in a light sleep and I say groggily, “Carson what the is your Problem?  Go back to bed, it’s 4 a.m.”   He seems to quiet down for few minutes then he starts up again.  So I hope out of bed, very upset and yell, “Carson what the hell is your problem?  Its 4 Fricken A&M and I am Tired!”  Now I am out of bed and he is VERY excited.  I pass by his water and he has water..still using a slightly raised and agitated voice I say, “You have Water JERK!” so then I sleep walk to his food bowl…he has food.  I decide he is just being a jerk so I stumble back to my room, slam the door and say, “Damn it Carson, Mommy needs her sleep.”   (Which is really funny because this is Friday night…I have all day to sleep Saturday if I really wanted.  In my defense, he did wake me from a dead sleep.)

Just as I start to fall back into a deep sleep I hear Click..Click…ClickClickClick..my bedroom door bursts open, he starts shaking his collar and huffing and puffing.  So I leap out of bed REALLY MAD.  I follow him to the hallway shouting, “What the HELL is your Problem?  Its 5:30 a.m.  It’s not Play time!”  He ignores my shouting and is very excited I am following him.  I follow him downstairs while grumbling..”I don’t know what your fricken problem is but mommy is tired and this is BS” and he leads me to the big glass doors to the back yard.  Please note, just around the corner is a rather large dog door that he can use to let himself in and out as he pleases.  So I say, “Oh now you’re too good to use your dog door…you want me to let you out at 5:30 in the FRICKEN morning?”  I proceed to let him out the back door while continuing to grumble about this being BS and how I am not doing this again.  He could hardly wait for me to get that door open he was so excited.   I decided to walk around the corner and check on his dog door to make sure there wasn’t an issue…and guess what.  The Dog Door was closed!!!!!

The exterminator had come earlier that day at 4 p.m. and my roommate had closed the dog door.  She forgot to open it.  Carson had not been outside to go to the bathroom for at least 13 hours, if not longer.   So, being the best dog in the world what did he do…he held it until he could no longer wait!  Did he just do his business on the floor?  No, he spent over an hour trying to wake me and make me let him outside.  So naturally I felt like crap for yelling at him.  I have to remember that ALMOST every time he wakes me in the middle of the night it is because he really does need something from me.  I took him to the dog park on the water on Saturday.  He loves to get in the water…but only his front half. He does not like to get his butt wet.  It is a very funny sight.  I hope to capture a picture of it for you soon.

This entry was posted in Carson W. Kerber, Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Middle of the Night Antics with Carson

  1. Mary Kerber says:

    It’s good to remember that Carson is very considerate of your sleep and really does not wake you unless it is absolutely necessary. What a great dog!

  2. Irma says:

    I have experienced you during “woke up in the middle of the night” and you are horrid, if Carson is willing to endure it…he must REALLY REALLY need something from you!

  3. Christie says:

    Love it! Buy him a new toy!

  4. jkerber says:

    He doesn’t play with toys…not a one. No squekie toys, no plush toys, no dolls, no balls….don’t even through that ball because Hell will freeze over before he fetches….So, I bought him of the “Cheeseburger” dog food…so bad for him but he LOVES it. I just bought a small things and he gets a small amount every few days on top of his diet dog food. The boy goes CRAZY!

Leave a Reply

