A Julie Party

Did you forget about me?  Yes, I kind of forgot about my blog.  Not really…but you know life gets moving fast and I just have not had much to blog about…lots of stuff I could have blogged about, but it’s too late now. 

Except for today…I have a heartwarming story that is perfect for a blog…now we see if anyone is still checking out this thing.

About a month or so before Julie died she and a friend of hers were going to take their daughters to New York City for an visit to the American Girl Doll store!  Everyone was excited, especially Hallie.  Unfortunately, the weekend they were suppose to go to New York Julie ended up in the hospital.  They never made it.

Flash Forward two and half years…I have a rare opportunity to take Hallie to New York next week.  So, I was checking out the American Girl Doll (AGD) Store trying to figure out what we could do while we were visiting New York.  Well it just so happens that on the one day of the year we will be in New York City, the AGD store is hosting a Julie 70’s Dinner Party.  It is a unique experience for you and your Julie doll to celebrate all the greatness of Julie.  It was like a sign from above!  We had to go!  Mistake #1:  In my excitement, I called Hallie and asked if she wanted to go.  She was ecstatic…she saw it as a sign from her Mom.  So I called to get tickets and it turns out this is their most popular party and it has been sold out for 6 months!  I was crushed.  That poor lady on the phone had to sit with me while I repeated, “Oh No, This is awful” and my voice started to crack because I was on the verge of crying.  So then I said, “I was planning to take my friends kids from Texas to the American Girl Doll Store.  Her Mom died.  Her name was Julie. She was really excited about the idea of attending an American Girl Doll party in the name of her mother.  Do you have a waitlist?”  Turns out they did not have a waitlist because it is pre-paid tickets, non-refundable…so everyone on the list is planning to attend.  But they took down my name and number and said they would call me on the rare occasion that they do find out about a cancellation.

So, I just figured it was a no go, told Hallie, and we went about planning all the other things we were going to do.  Flash Forward a few weeks to last night – I got a call from the NY American Girl Doll Store.  Apparently the woman I talked with made a bunch of calls and she finally got to someone in NY, they ran it by the Manager, and they decided that they would add an extra table just for Hallie.  It is not something they normally do.  I could not help but cry when they told me that.  When I called to tell Hallie, she was beside herself with excitement. She just kept saying, “Wow..I just can’t believe it!  I am so excited!  I can’t believe it.”  She then proceeded to call everyone she knows to tell them.  J

And, if all goes well a classmate of mine and Julie’s from high school is making matching outfits for Hallie and her Julie doll for the big dinner.  I will take lots of pictures. 

It just goes to show you, people are amazing.  She is going to have the best time in New York City.  (We also got tickets to a Broadway Show!)

This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Julie Party

  1. Heather says:

    Wow! That is amazing! If this story doesn’t make you believe God than I don’t know what will! I hope you guys have an awesome time.

  2. Ernie says:

    I agree with Heather… and notice how God almost always uses someone on the scene who is available, willing, and tenacious… to get his blessings out there. Good on you for being that available, willing and tenacious spirit… it’s through you Jen – that He is blessing Hallie. Have an awesome trip.

  3. Angie Morton says:

    Best. Blog post. Ever. 🙂

  4. Shari says:

    This is such a wonderful thing you’re doing. Plus, I’m SO glad to hear that AG NYC was so accommodating. My experience when I took my daughters there was not so good and it’s put me off going back. Maybe it’s time to give them another chance.

Leave a Reply

