More Celebrities Appearing Before Congress

This is getting almost ridiculous!  Steven Colbert will testify before Congress on Friday in a hearing on Immigration. That is right…I said it…Steven Colbert is testifying on immigration before a Committee that was given its legislative powers by Article 1 of the U.S. Constitution.  Am I the only one that thinks that Congress is now making a mockery of itself (not like they have been doing so good on their image in the past few year anyway).

I understand he will be appearing in Character so he is not testifying as an expert on immigration (like Mr. Costner).   But still, isn’t that kind of offensive?  Is this really the right place for a comedian?  Is immigration a joke?  On Friday the Judiciary Committee will hold a hearing on Immigration and Field Workers.  The President of the United Farm Workers (UFW) will appear on Steven Colbert tonight and he is also testifying on Friday.  For this TV segment the filmed Colbert spending a day on a corn and vegetable farm in New York.  This was done for the show and as part of a campaign to debunk the notion that undocumented immigrants are taking jobs away from American citizens and highlight the fact the nation’s food supply is dependent on these farm workers.  Based on Colbert’s experience working in the field, he is now going to testify before Congress ….and apparently he is going to do it in Character.

Am I the only one who finds this a little bit offense?  And don’t get me wrong…I LOVE Steven Colbert (and Jon Stewart).  Those guys KNOW Funny!   I love their upcoming rallies in D.C.  But as I said earlier, I don’t like my Hollywood mixing with my legislative world.  Since when did Congress become so enamored with celebrities?

I really don’t think testifying under oath before Congress is appropriate.  It’s not a joke. I am not paying taxes to fund playtime when we have major issues facing this country and serious work must get done.

This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Celebrities Appearing Before Congress

  1. Deborah Kelley says:

    I could not agree with you more. What a waste of taxpayer dollars!

Leave a Reply

