Earthquake in D.C. Really???

I was on the 6th floor of a Senate building when the rumbling started.  There were 7 of us around the table all looking at each other wondering what the hell was going on.  Then the alarms sound and one of the attendees start to panic, “We have to get out of here.”  As we start to head out of the office someone says the thing that all of us were thinking but were not going to say out loud, “Is it a terrorist attack?”

I immediately try to send a text message to may family that says, “I am fine. Evacuating the Capitol Building.  Unsure if Terrorist attack or Earthquake.” Then we proceed down several flights of stairs with hundreds of slightly panicked people trying to get out of the building.  I was cursing myself for having chosen today of all days to wear the 3” heels.   My text was having trouble getting out so I was also trying to send an email while descending stairs in my fabulous heels.  I think I should get a medal for this type of multi-tasking.

The saddest part about today was that when we got outside my colleague and I immediately looked up in the sky and he said, “No smoke.”  That was a good sign.   Luckily my colleague was quick thinking and basically stole a cab from the 100 of people standing around.  It was a good thing because I was not looking forward to walking 10 blocks back to the office in my fabulous heels!  I have now decided I need to add some sort of flip flop or shoe to my purse for these types of situations. I have a pair of tennis shoes at the office…I learned that one on 9/11.

By the time we sat in the cab we were able to confirm it was just an earthquake. But my heart was still beating fast.  It was scary.  I was physically moving back and forth on the 6th floor of a building.  Without warning!  I have decided I don’t much care for earthquakes.  I don’t like the sudden arrival of them and the lack of warning.  I will stick to my hurricanes.

Speaking of which…they are predicting we will have a hurricane here on Sunday.  Can we reflect back on what I have been through in my decade of living in D.C.:  1 Hurricane (already), Terrorist attack, Anthrax attack (you haven’t lived until you have been evacuated from a building with men in head to toe white suits), the sniper, the 100-year locust invasion, and Snowmageddon 2010.

Remind me again why I live here?

This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

