Wow – Did I really almost make it to Election Day without a Blog Post?

I got pinged the other day from one of my avid Blog supporters (Okay it was my Mom) who said, “I can’t believe we are two weeks away from a Presidential election and you have not posted ANYTHING on your blog.”   Let me just clarify – it was not because of voter apathy but rather being overworked.   So, here is my typical election blog.

First and Foremost…Please go vote.  Don’t make me go into why it is important you vote…no matter where you live – battleground state or Texas.  VOTE!  It’s your right and your responsibility.  (I could explicitly call out certain people here but I won’t.  You know who you are!)   BTW –  You can go early vote…you don’t have to wait until election day.

This is going to be a very close election.  In fact, I believe like many pundits are now saying that we will have an election where the person who wins the Electoral votes (Obama) doesn’t win the popular vote (Romney).  This will be the 4th time in history (most recent being Bush v. Gore).   Additionally, I don’t see Congress switching control, only the margins getting smaller.  Do you know what that means?  Pure Hell for the next 4 years of absolutely NOTHING getting done.   (I will have to do a post soon about the Fiscal Cliff that we are about to go over.)

Living in a Swing State

Sucks!  I don’t know how else to explain it. I was actually happy when I was in California because I did not see one Obama/Romney commercial (Just a TON of proposition ads).  Thank GOD for a DVR and fast forward.  If you think about it, its really a shame.   Between Romney and Obama we have raised $200 million in the last two months for a presidential political campaign.  I would so much rather apply that to something like our deficit or investment in small business.  Instead, the money is being used to ensure none of us can turn on the TV or Radio.

Good news: I am in a swing state (which I believe will go Republican) and it has provided a lot of opportunity for me to volunteer for the campaign.

War on Women

I had to mention this…as a Woman I had no idea I was at war!  I wish someone would have told me sooner how awful it is to be a woman and how much I am being oppressed.  Did you know people are actively trying to take away my rights and freedoms and they are threatening my health and my family?  (It is even in Wikipedia!) (and don’t get me started on the taking away my rights regarding my health…not gonna happen in my lifetime and should not be any part of politics.)  I have to say, if this is living through a War I can’t imagine what it will be like when we finally end the War on Women!

Me neither.  Why?  Because it is a political creation that is a result of both parties realizing the major swing vote in this country is women.   In order to get re-elected Obama must take a large margin of female voters.  Voter statistics show that women vote more often then men.  Additionally, when asked, the top concern among women voters is the economy.  When the economy tanked it affected more women than men (No wonder economy is their top issues).   Hence the focus on the Economy and the need to create the War on Women.  Its all about votes people.

So – my final point – every time I hear there is a war on women I want to punch someone.  Now, if it isn’t too awful being a woman I would ask that you go vote.

This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wow – Did I really almost make it to Election Day without a Blog Post?

  1. Mary Kerber says:

    Thank goodness you finally blogged about the election! I was afraid the world was ending and nobody warned me!

    Mom

  2. Ila says:

    hello there and thank you for your information – I have certainly picked up something
    new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical issues using this website,
    as I experienced to reload the site a lot of times previous to I could get it to load correctly.
    I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage your quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to my email and can look out for much more of your respective fascinating content. Ensure that you update this again very soon.

Leave a Reply

